Who Hijacked My Fantasy Genre?

Mordor

Article about a new book with a twist on a much beloved classic . . . and not a good twist.

2 responses to “Who Hijacked My Fantasy Genre?”

  1. jjmed says :

    So glad you posted. I read it over lunch and have been pondering. As I read: “Yeskov presents Mordor as a highly advanced society based around science and technology” it made me think of Chesterton’s The Ball & The Cross which has an opening vision of Dr. Lucifer (the great technology guru and brain of the age) and a very holy man named Michael (couldn’t be more obvious, right?). They then verbally spar over rationalism vs. piety.

    My interpretation of Chesterton’s take (aided by some recent John Vianney I’ve been tinkering with) is that when you divorce morality from technology and reason you ultimately worship either your own pleasure or the technology itself. My hope as I was reading was that “Yeskov presents Mordor as a highly advanced society based around science and technology… WHICH ULTIMATELY SUFFERS FROM GRAVE DISORDERS.” Rather than being its virtue, I was hoping to read that Yeskov presented science and technology as its folly.

    Maybe I should become an author so I can can write a rebuttal in an unauthorized sequal to Yeskov’s unauthorized sequel.

Share your thoughts

